Sirocco & Me

I’ve been studying Parelli Natural Horsemanship for a few years and never before took the time to get “officially certified” in the program. I’ve signed up for a level 3 & 4 clinic in June which means I must be certified in level 2 to attend. I’m really looking forward to the clinic which is with one of Parelli’s top trainers, Carol Coppinger. I’ve been to one of her level 1 clinics a few years ago and she’s amazing. Great teacher too.

So the other day Emily ran the camera for me and I completed my Level 2 online audition tape. Now I wait to hear if I passed. The other part of level 2 is the riding part which I haven’t recorded yet. Here’s my online audition with my gelding Sirocco. (9 minute youtube video at the end of this post)

about the horse…

He was born here and is out of my quarter horse mare April. She died last year at 24 from a spine injury suffered in a fall last winter. She slipped in the pasture when it was wet and muddy. She was a great horse, my best friend and a wonderful mamma. I still miss her and the many trail rides we had together. She is buried on our farm down near “the point,” a spot next to the geldings pasture and the lake.

Sirocco is a quarter horse and his bloodlines are King p234, king fritz, leo & poco buano. Those are all old foundation QH lines. There are two common types of quarter horses…the cowboys rode stalky horses with a lot of muscle to work cows. They are fast and can turn on a dime. Later thoroughbreds were bred into the line to add a slender tall frame to the mix for things like jumping, dressage and eventing. Sirocco is short and stalky. Quarter Horses got the name because they could run the fastest 1/4 mile. His grand father was “Woodchex,” a national reining horse champion. Reining is also called “the cowboy’s dressage.”

In terms Parelli folks understand, he is a left brain introvert/extrovert (I see both of those in him so not sure where he falls on the chart) I started riding him before winter set in and now we’re just getting back to riding in the arena. He’s been doing really well and I think all the ground work is really paying off. He’s side passing, coming off my leg, picking up his lead and backing nicely. I’m really happy with his progress.

He has a full brother “Grayson Chex Leo” that I am working with too but I am not as far along yet with him. I’ll post more about him later. A local trainer, JR has been coming to the farm to help start all the young green horses and he’s really helped me with my riding skills too. He’s the 3rd generation in his family to train horses and he too is a natural horseman. Here he is playing a circle game with Dolly (“Honcho’s Dolly Dee”) another one of our quarter horses in training at Avalon Farms.

Val’s Level 2 Online Audition Video

Leave a comment

Filed under The Horse Arena

Leave a Reply

