Learning to Drive

Something I’ve been wanting to learn is driving…as in horse & buggy driving. It’s so different than riding because you don’t use legs to comunicate with the horse. It’s all in your hands (the reins), your voice and the buggy whip.
PICT2456
I have a neighbor that’s been helping me to put together my first rig. He sold me a 5 year old haflinger gelding named Max. He also hand made a buggy out of local cedar and had the leather harness & collar made by a local guy he knew.
max
Today was a big day as I learned to drive two different types of rigs…a 2 wheel cart
PICT2450
and a 4 wheel carriage with a 5th wheel.
PICT2453
Everyone I know that is into driving have been so helpful. Thank you Claire, Joy & John, Billy Jack, my sister Diane & her husband Kevin and others. Thanks for helping a novice like me.
I’m studying DVD’s and books from The Bowers Farm about harnesses & driving too. I went to the Parelli Clinic in feb in Franklin, Tennessee linda parelliand was fortunate to meet Steve Bower’s son Nate. Steve is no longer with us but he left behind a lot of information about how to naturally train and drive horses. His son is carrying on with his work and he was so kind to talk to me for so long and answer my questions. I have tons of them. I’m out of my comfort zone but I’m excited to make driving a part of my horse world
Driving is like any other horse sport..accidents can and do happen. I’m hoping that by using my Parelli training and then learning all I can about driving naturally, I will avoid the mistakes and have many happy rides around the farm with Max.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1

Leave a Reply

