Parelli Tour in Franklin, Tennessee

dolly
Dolly in the snow. She is a young quarterhorse mare at Avalon Farms. Her full name is Honcho’s Dolly Dee and is from the Sonny Dee Bar line.

Those who know me know one of my biggest passions is horses. I love riding them, caring for them, feeding them, smelling them, sitting doing nothing around them and just sitting and watching them. For many years everything I did around horses I did because I saw someone else do it. I didn’t know there was a better way… a more natural way. I also didn’t know that most of what people do around horses came from the military.

I found natural horsemanship several years ago and studied several techniques. I used to say “well, I take a little from this one, a little from that one.” I made some progress with my horses but I wanted to be a better trainer, a better rider…I wanted more…I wanted a relationship with my horse but I just didn’t know what that entailed or how to find the knowledge I was looking for. What I was searching for was called Parelli.

Pat & Linda Parelli have created a model for communicating with horses. They have a step by step plan of teaching it that anyone can learn. They are only doing a few tour stops in the U.S. this year and one of them is just south of Nashville in Franklin, Tennessee. It is truly amazing to watch and I can’t urge you enough to go see them if you can. If you want to know more listen to Pat talk about what they do and what will be happening at the tour stop
http://heartanddesire.typepad.com/heart_desire/audio-and-video/

or go check out everything Parelli at their website:
http://www.parelli.com

Keep it savvy!
Val

Leave a comment

Filed under Aound The Farm, The Horse Arena

Leave a Reply

