Gas lines in Middle Tennessee

A sight I remember in the 70’s when I fist started driving came back today and people waited to fill up their tanks all around Nashville. Deb and I drove to the co-op today to buy horse feed. On our journey we discovered that EVERY gas station in town was out of gas except one. The line of cars there stretched 25-30 cars at least.

We called our sweeties and gave them the “red alert!” I talked to Emily who found some regular gas at Costcos in town. She said the line was about 50 cars. Cosco people were passing out bottled water to drivers in line and making sure everyone had a costco membership card.

Deb talked to Brenda who said “old hickory doesn’t have a line I’ll go there…oh they have no gas.” She found some awhile later and both came home with 5 gallon cans too. My toyota is completely out in the driveway so I was glad she brought a little home.

According to local tv news the colonial pipeline that services Nashville (and new orleans, atlanta, memphis, chattanooga, & Knoxville) is from Houston and so we could be looking at shortages for a while. Where is our plug in solar car? Maybe I should train the horses to pull a cart.

UPDATE: We woke up to read on CNN’s website that it’s our fault…we panicked.As Emily so eloquently put it…BULLSHIT. Last night we read it was because 75% of capacity of the pipeline was gone from the Hurricane. Here’s what I KNOW. None of us had a clue about the problem until we drove by the gas stations. We are being manipulated again and the press is stepping right up to spin the “truth.” I predict Nashville isn’t the only city this is going to happen to.

3 Comments

Filed under 1

3 responses to “Gas lines in Middle Tennessee

  1. I’ve actually found some reports that some areas of FL, NB, and SC are experiencing the gas outages as well. I’m thinkin’ on those electric cars too…have you seen the documentary “Who Killed the Electric Car?”? Maybe we can have a screening of it 😉

  2. Greetings! I’m new to the site. I’ve read several comments about cooling solar panels but I haven’t seen anything about this: Will spraying the hot surface of solar panel glass with cool water break the glass? I am concerned about the sudden temperature change introducing stress to the glass surf.

    • i’m no expert Andrew but I use solar in the valley with the horse operation and every time it rains it rains on the panels. I can always put my hand on the surface and it’s never hot. seem durable as hell to me

Leave a Reply

