When Women Rule

Check this op-ed in the New York Times about why it is so hard for women to overcome the prejudice against them to lead. As you will see in this article it isn’t all coming from men. Read about the women in the village in India and how they didn’t come around until the next generation of female leaders. Hillary has an uphill battle and this is a big part of the reason. We live in a patriarchy and the foundations holding that system up are men AND women. I’m not advocating the opposite here…matriarchy…although I have to admitted I have entertained the fantasy. What I am advocating for is a system of equal justice for all of us. That to me is the only form of true Democracy and I believe we have never had that yet in the United States. I’m hoping to see it in my lifetime but sometimes it seems like we have so far to go…

New York Times Op-Ed Columnist
When Women Rule

By NICHOLAS D. KRISTOF
Published: February 10, 2008
While no woman has been president of the United States — yet — the world does have several thousand years’ worth of experience with female leaders. And I have to acknowledge it: Their historical record puts men’s to shame.
Read article here

2 Comments

Filed under Political

2 responses to “When Women Rule

  1. Whole lot O’ Obama out there. Personally, I know what all of the Hub Bub is about; I am just not buying it. You might like to read more about Obamanizers in my post about Obama titled, “Obama Fruit, Not so Sweet” at:

    http://riggword.wordpress.com/

    Check it out and let me know what you think.
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now,
    thanks for your words and your time.

  2. Hi – I came upon your post through a news alert I have for the word Matriarchy. I just wanted to comment that matriarchy is not, as commonly believed, the “opposite” of patriarchy – it’s not male-type domination in a skirt. True matriarchy is a peaceful, egalitarian system in which everyone has a voice and no one rules over anyone else. There’s a growing movement that advocates a return to matriarchy so we can all live in harmony with Gaia and each other once again.

    Peace~

    Morgaine Swann, HPs

Leave a Reply

